Or is it? I’ll never really know but I did spend some time trying to figure out the best way to delete the account. I went with the double delete method. This is where I went in to my account and manually deleted all my personal info and pictures.
I then attempted to look for the delete the account button but it’s next to impossible to find. There is a deactivate option on facebook but that just keeps your account inactive for future use. That means my personal info is still there for any of facebooks apps or partners to access.
I dug deeper into the facebook help files and finally found the link I was looking for. http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account. This is the link you need to take you to the page where you can delete your account.
Why am I so worried? Check out the accompanying video and links and remember facebook changed it’s terms so that they are now allowed to store any information it gets on you permanently, as in forever.
- New Facebook App Policy Allows Hackers Easy Access to Personal Information (matei.org)
- Deactivated: Students Abandon Facebook (blogs.abcnews.com)
- A guide to protecting your information on the New Facebook (downloadsquad.com)